Parent Workshop: The Engineering Design Process at Home

April 1, 2022: 6:00AM Pacific / 7:00AM Mountain / 8:00am Central / 9:00am Eastern Life is messy and your child doesn’t always deal with clear-cut problems. Join Technovation to learn about the Engineering Design Process and how this framework can help anybody approach all sorts of complex problems both within STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and […]

Recurring

Afterschool Coaching for Reflective Educators in STEM (ACRES) March Cohort: Modeling Engineering Practices (Tuesday Group)

Engineering has become a staple of STEM programming for youth. How can we confidently bring engineering into our programming and support youth as they engage in problem solving? In this module, participants gain first-hand experience with engineering by solving a design problem. They examine the components of the engineering design process and discuss ways to […]

Recurring

Afterschool Coaching for Reflective Educators in STEM (ACRES) March Cohort: Modeling Science Practices

How can we make sure that our ‘hands on’ science experiences for youth are also ‘minds on?’ In this module, participants learn how to support youth as they engage in the science practices to learn science ideas, including planning and conducting investigations around testable questions. They will talk about the similarities and differences of questioning […]

National Environmental Education Week

Celebrate National Environmental Education Week with these resources: Role Model Video: #SheCanSTEM video featuring IF/THEN Ambassador and climate scientist, Dr. Victoria Herrmann Role Model Video: Mission Unstoppable: Tracking Bears with Dr. Rae Wynn-Grant Posters: This is what a scientist looks like of IF/THEN Ambassador and nuclear engineer, Dr. Rae Wynn-Grant. This poster can be used […]

3 Cheers for the “M” in STEM

Webinar: The M in STEM: Math in Everyday Life Wednesday, April 20, 2022 11:00AM Pacific / 12:00PM Mountain / 1:00PM Central / 2:00PM Eastern This webinar will focus on ways math is prevalent and relevant in everyday life, including in afterschool spaces. We will learn about ways to recognize and embrace authentic math moments and […]

Recurring

Afterschool Coaching for Reflective Educators in STEM (ACRES) April Cohort: Ready, Set, STEM! & Asking Purposeful Questions

Are you ready to bring meaningful STEM learning into your program? This module offers educators who are new to facilitating STEM the opportunity to build supportive relationships with other educators while exploring the principles of STEM learning. This module combines an introduction to STEM facilitation with the skill of Asking Purposeful Questions. *The expectation is […]

Recurring

Afterschool Coaching for Reflective Educators in STEM (ACRES) March Cohort: Modeling Science Practices

How can we make sure that our ‘hands on’ science experiences for youth are also ‘minds on?’ In this module, participants learn how to support youth as they engage in the science practices to learn science ideas, including planning and conducting investigations around testable questions. They will talk about the similarities and differences of questioning […]

Recurring

Afterschool Coaching for Reflective Educators in STEM (ACRES) April Cohort: Ready, Set, STEM! & Asking Purposeful Questions

Are you ready to bring meaningful STEM learning into your program? This module offers educators who are new to facilitating STEM the opportunity to build supportive relationships with other educators while exploring the principles of STEM learning. This module combines an introduction to STEM facilitation with the skill of Asking Purposeful Questions. *The expectation is […]

Webinar: STEAM Resources for Libraries

STEAM Resources for Libraries May 17th 11:00 am - 12:00 pm PT / 2:00 - 3:00 pm ET Libraries are instrumental in bringing high-quality STEAM experiences to their communities. Join us to learn about resources and opportunities specifically designed for libraries.In this webinar, we are joined by representatives from NASA's Universe of Learning, The National […]

The Mississippi Statewide Afterschool Network works to better our state and its communities by connecting providers, parents and policymakers with proven tools and resources to increase the quality of and access to out-of-school time programming for K-12 children and youth.

 

Afterschool is a lifeline that keeps youth safe, helps kids learn and grow, and provides parents the ability to work without worry. 

Recurring

Afterschool Coaching for Reflective Educators in STEM (ACRES) April Cohort: Ready, Set, STEM! & Asking Purposeful Questions

Are you ready to bring meaningful STEM learning into your program? This module offers educators who are new to facilitating STEM the opportunity to build supportive relationships with other educators while exploring the principles of STEM learning. This module combines an introduction to STEM facilitation with the skill of Asking Purposeful Questions. *The expectation is […]

Mississippi has hundreds of afterschool and summer learning programs across the state for children and families. Use this map to find a program in your area.

Mississippi has hundreds of afterschool and summer learning programs across the state for children and families. Use this map to find a program in your area.